[WHAT I ATE/DID WEDS] – LEFTOVERS, THAI, A HAIRCUT, AND BEST FRIENDS

Eating stuff! Doing stuff! Here’s my Wednesday…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam    Processed with VSCOcam

 

Breakfast: a little pickle bowl. Had about a 1/4 cup rice left, covered it with some kimchi, carrot, shoyuzuke, scallions, and furikake.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Lunch: Dumpling leftovers! The best thing about having dumplings in the house is being able to eat them fresh off the steamer, and make accompanying chili sauce as HOT AS I WANT. Side salad of napa and carrot, a little cup of shoyuzuke. 

Processed with VSCOcam

Dinner: with Adrienne, one of my oldest friends, at Bunn Thai Bistro in Arroyo Grande. We split the Grilled Lemongrass Shrimp Salad and a big pot of Tom Khlong with tofu. Bunn is my new favorite Thai place on the Central Coast. They’re an unusual restaurant in that they explicitly cater to clean, healthy eating. This means herbs, vinegar, hot sauce, and the natural flavors of the food do all the heavy lifting flavor-wise, NOT fats/oils. It was so refreshing to be able to relax and eat at a restaurant without having to worry about doctored up food.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Other awesome events of the day?! 

Haircut at the 9’s in Templeton. Christine listened to my somewhat garbled description of how I wanted the mane tamed and set to work. She gave me exactly what I wanted. I’ll definitely be back to Christine in the fall when I need a more “professional” look, but for now I am just so grateful for someone who understood and was willing to help me maintain my “cavegirl” messy California layers cut. I actually brought in a picture of Chiara Ferragni! Pardon the no-makeup “I’m horrifyingly cold” look…

Processed with VSCOcam

 

Processed with VSCOcam    Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam     Processed with VSCOcam

Visiting Adrienne’s beautiful home in Halycon. It’s a pretty special thing to see your childhood best friend run a household, especially a house and property as beautiful as this one. Her house is a straight up 60’s California gem, so many windows, so much rich soil for gardening. Adrienne had made me a fresh loaf of bread to take home after dinner.

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam     Processed with VSCOcam

That’s it for today! Let me know if you ate anything particularly wonderful!

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

