[THE LAST BENTO] – DC, JE TAIME

Just to be clear this is not the last bento forever, but it is the last bento I’ll make in DC for quite some time, at least until the fall when I’ve dispatched of the bar exam. 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Top shelf (left): Chow Mei Fun-style glass noodles with eggplant, tuna, and shiitake mushrooms. Sauce strong points = umeshu, shoyu, curry, and bbq sauce + hard-boiled egg + scallions.

Bottom shelf (right): steamed bok choy with shiso furikake and a shiitake mushroom.

This one is a bit more of a scrapper than my usual work. I apologize for all the ingredient repeats, but as I’ve mentioned before I was in the process of cleaning out my fridge before the move. My bento contents should get a lot more creative once I get to California and settle in…

So, the rest of this entry will be a sort of “what I”ll miss about DC” post! It deserves a tribute! So many pics after the jump!

THINGS I’LL MISS ABOUT DC

1. Walking out my side door every morning and seeing the Watermelon House. How great is it to have a little shot of levity before a long day of work? I never met the whimsically-disposed owners of this house, but I always enjoyed the cheek of this paint job. It says a lot about the character of my neighborhood.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

2. The botanical wiles of Shaw and Logan Circle homes. Sometimes it’s like living in a botanical garden. The variety of flowers and plants house by house is actually staggering. Why stop and smell the roses when you can stop and investigate literally any variety of tulip, maple tree, and violet in a four-block radius?

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

3. Whitney’s perfect kitchen (and, of course, Whitney). My roommate Whitney is going to be a fantastic attorney, but she’s already a great homemaker. Her kitchen is so picture-perfect, well-stocked, and pink. I took care of it as best I could, but often felt like a stampeding rhino boiling and singing everything to a crisp. I was basically a tenant in her home this semester, and I’ll always be grateful to her for putting up with my “culinary aggressions.”

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset    Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam Processed with VSCOcam Processed with VSCOcam

4. How easy it is to meet awesome people.

For example, on Tuesday spent hours in the only legit coffee shop in Chinatown, Chinatown Coffee Co. working on the blasted last paper. During this time I was chatted up by one biglaw attorney studying MCAT material, a cyber security masters student from Stanford who knew someone from my tiny hometown, and overheard a conversation by two lawyers discussing their “crazy” mutual friend who directed Kinky Boots. What?!

DC, I am going to miss you so much, for it seems nearly all your inhabitants (a) have their shit together, (b) are impeccably pedigreed academically, (c) know a ton about a really amazing niche subject and will discuss it enthusiastically, and (d) will all be very patient with me while I engage them in fiery debate about WHERE THE BEST RAMEN IS. That would be Toki, btw…

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

THANKS FOR EVERYTHING, DC! 

 

4 thoughts on “[THE LAST BENTO] – DC, JE TAIME

Leave a Reply

